Abu Dhabi Golf Club

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship

In 2013, Abu Dhabi Golf Club hosted the European PGA Tour Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship for the 8th consecutive year. 

Welsh Wizard Conjures Up Magic in Abu Dhabi

Welshman Jamie Donaldson overhauled Justin Rose's two-stroke lead to win the Abu Dhabi Championship by one shot.

On an enthralling final day at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club, Donaldson had five birdies and did not drop a shot until the final hole, to finish on 14 under.

That allowed Rose a chance to force a play-off but his birdie putt lipped out of the cup and a 71 was one too many.

Denmark's Thorbjorn Olesen had also missed a putt to take the event into a play-off and he shared second.

Donaldson, 37, waited 11 years and 255 events to record his first European Tour victory last season at the Irish Open.

Having already qualified for the Masters at Augusta in April by breaking into the top 50 by the turn of the year, he required only 14 more events to add his second title with an impressive display in the Middle East, defying a series of contenders, most noticeably world number five Rose.

"It was nerve wracking," he admitted having watched the final pair miss opportunities to take the tournament to extra holes. "I thought one of them would hole if not both. I'm just very happy to be holding the trophy." 

•    2014 Winner - WHO WILL IT BE?
•    2013 Winner - Jamie Donaldson      

•    2012 Winner - Robert Rock     
•    2011 Winner - Martin Kaymer    
•    2010 Winner - Martin Kaymer
•    2009 Winner - Paul Casey
•    2008 Winner - Martin Kaymer
•    2007 Winner - Paul Casey
•    2006 Winner - Chris DiMarco  

For further information, please visit the official Championship website at www.abudhabihsbcgolfchampionship.com

Join us on facebook